Caves Branch wins BTB’s Hospitality Award

The Hospitality Award is being presented to a tourism ancillary organization that offers exceptional customer service, manages the business seamlessly, is sensitive to the needs of staff, flexible in adapting to change and accommodating to the industry’s needs.

On October 21, 2017, the Belize Tourism Board (BTB) held its 15th annual gala to select winners for its prestigious national tourism awards. This year's BTB gala was held at the Ramada Princess Hotel in Belize City.

With a number of distinguished guests in attendance, including Deputy Prime Minister Patrick Faber and Tourism Minister Manuel Heredia, and Ms. Kim Simples Barrow, the government's Special Envoy for Women and Children, the Belize Tourism Board selected Caves Branch Lodge for its 2017 Hospitality Award. Caves Branch Lodge was selected for the quality services offered to guests as well as the resort's continued dedication to promoting tourism in Belize.

"I am very proud of Caves Branch for winning the Hospitality Award," said Ian Anderson, founder of Caves Branch Lodge, "but I would like to take a moment to congratulate all the other winners of the 2017 BTB awards."

"Over the past few years, Caves Branch had been nominated many many times for awards in various categories," continued Anderson. "In 2016, our senior guide Justo Navas was awarded Tour Guide of the Year. And now we have been selected for the Hospitality Award in 2017."

"It took many years to be recognized, but each year we continued striving for excellence," said Anderson. "I only mention this as I know that all of the winners in 2017 have also worked hard to overcome setbacks yet always kept striving for excellence, as we did, and are now finally being recognized by their peers for their success."

Caves Branch Lodge is located just a short drive from Belmopan in central Belize. Founded more than 20 years ago, Caves Branch is the country's premier adventure lodge, offering luxury accommodations deep in the heart of the Belizean jungle. 

The Belize Tourism Board was founded in 1990 and is the country's premier non-governmental body that helps promote tourism and connects tourism service operators in the country. 

The theme of the 2017 BTB Tourism Awards was "Rainforest Meets Reef" in recognition of the diversity of Belize's rich natural landscape, one of the principle draws for tourists visiting the country.


Other categories receiving an award from the Belize Tourism Board this year included Frontline Personnel, Hotel of the Year, Small Accommodations of the Year, and Restaurant of the Year. Information about all of BTB's awards can be found below.

Here are the BTB 2017 Winners:

BTB Tour Operator of the Year 2017

Toledo Cave and Adventure Tours

Tour operators understand the growing needs of visitors. The Tour Operator of the year excels in service, marketing, creativity, uniqueness, safety, reliability, value for money and exemplifies a strong commitment to sustainable and innovative business practices.

BTB Tour Guide of the Year 2017

Estavan Choco of The Lodge at Big Falls

Tour Guides are the story tellers of Belize. They possess a wealth of knowledge, have the ability to mesmerize an audience, have excellent communication and interpersonal skills, a positive attitude, creativity, and the ability to provide a world class tour experience.

BTB Small Accommodations of the Year 2017

Caribbean Beach Cabanas

A small accommodation might be small in size but more than makes up with personality. It is being presented to a licensed property with less than ten rooms, which offers superior quality that captures the essence of warmth and homeliness, displays excellence in customer service, has outstanding facilities, has remarkable ambiance and a personalized touch in delivering the Belize brand to its visitors.

BTB Restaurant of the Year 2017

Rum Fish & Vino

Today’s travellers are more cultured, experienced and in turn more demanding on their culinary choices. This group of amazing nominees have taken the diversity of the Belizean cuisine and have managed to provide travelers with unforgettable dining experiences.

Minister Award

Philip "Billy" Leslie of San Pedro

Lifetime Achievement Award

Mick and Lucy Fleming of The Lodge at Chaa Creek

Hotel of the Year 2017

Grand Caribe Resort

Hotel of the year. There is no doubt that all these nominees deserved this award, but we must have one who rises above all the others. The hotel of the year offers a gateway to paradise, where service exceeds excellence, engulfed with positive attitude and attentiveness of staff. They offer exceptional value for money, are equipped with outstanding facilities and amenities, have remarkable ambience, are innovative and possess the ability to provide visitors with a truly authentic and all-encompassing Belize experience.

Hospitality Award of the Year 2017

Caves Branch Jungle Lodge

The Hospitality Award is being presented to a tourism ancillary organization that offers exceptional customer service, manages the business seamlessly, is sensitive to the needs of staff, flexible in adapting to change and accommodating to the industry’s needs.

BTB Frontline of the Year 2017

Leroy Welch

The front line worker is the backbone of your business. They are the ones that make a visitor’s experience. We have to acknowledge those who go the extra mile for that added value to provide exceptional customer service throughout the tourism Industry.

Open chat
Can we help?